Saratoga County Fair

I am going to attempt to catch up a bit! I am sorry for the time away but I had a very much unplugged Fourth of July holiday with some friends and than it was a busy week before my yearly trip to Lake George with my parents and the boyfriend.

I prefer to spend some time relaxing on vacations. However, the boyfriend takes a much more active approach to vacation. So this year was full of firsts for me at Lake George. One of the most unique firsts, was the Saratoga County Fair.

While I currently live in NYC, I did grow up in the suburbs. But those suburbs were twenty minutes outside NYC, so the county fair was still something odd and exciting.

I have heard about county fairs with headline events such as tractor pulls, cow contests and pie eating contests. I have never been to one though. That all changed.

We missed the pie eating contests and pig wrestling (although they were actually on the schedule!) We did get to admire all of the prize winning livestock and check out the tractor pulls!! There were also displays of prize winning antique and vintage toys throughout the fairgrounds as well.

Elaborate train set on display. It included a circus and many scenes!

Elaborate train set on display. It included a circus and many scenes!

Prize winning cows!! There were rows and rows of prize winning livestock!

Prize winning cows!! There were rows and rows of prize winning livestock!

There was a healthy selection of rides to try out as well. There were lots of ups and downs, twists and turns!! All of that excitement was accompanied by flashing lights, loud music and laughs!!

Ferris Wheel!!

Ferris Wheel!!

Swings! Except this one goes up in the air as it spins! It left me wishing I had not left my sweater with my bag!

Swings! Except this one goes up in the air as it spins! It left me wishing I had not left my sweater with my bag!

I love the brightness of all  the rides!!

I love the brightness of all the rides!!

The biggest disappointment of the night was that we determined to have some fried Oreos. Since the rides were calling us loudly, we decided to hold off until the end of the night for some fried deliciousness. Apparently, everyone else wanted to make sure they got their serving of fried goodness also, so they were all sold out by the time we were ready to eat them!

Leave a Reply

