Some Bad Excuses!!!

So I can easily make lots of excuses for why I should not exercise or why I can not exercise. Because if it is not my fault and I just can not exercise- than clearly I wanted to and was just prevented from by an ACT OF GOD!!! (Which might mean eating ice cream is easier and better). So clearly I need to look at some of these excuses.

It is easy for me to tell myself I shouldn’t go outside and run since I don’t have a running belt to put my phone and my iPod in it. Or since I have to carry my keys. Or that I shouldn’t since I don’t have something to hold water and carry with me easily. Or that since I have knee issues I shouldn’t try anything since I don’t have a more minimalist shoe. Or that it could be dangerous or that it is just too hot.

Or that I should not attempt a hot yoga class because I don’t have a yoga towel. Or that after yesterday’s class I should not take another one because I don’t think I have a good way to clean my mat.

Or that it is okay to be scared of the weights section and stay away from it because it is clearly only for men since it is full of big, bulky men. And that it would be impossible and horrible to ask them to show me how to do it because they obviously have no desire to talk to little old me.

See excuses- and flimsy ones at that.

Let’s look at these excuses one by one shall we?

I shouldn’t go outside and run since I don’t have a running belt to put my phone in it and my ipod.

Well that is ridiculous. I can easily carry one or the other. Or I can probably make sure that one is shoved in my bra or wear the shorts with the pockets.

I have to carry my keys.

This is laughable. In college when I tried running, I laced my keys into my shoes and it was fine. Also my keys include all of two keys on one ring so I could easily make arrangements to carry it.

Or that since I have knee issues I shouldn’t try anything since I don’t have a more minimalist shoe.

I have been using my Nike Frees since I got them a lil over a week ago. But this is still bunk. Any activity is better than none and I know that!

Or that it could be dangerous.

As a female running alone I feel this needs to be discussed. I am alone which is always more risky than not being alone. But I also come home late at night on the subway by myself. I walk to grocery store, the laundromat and a million other places by myself all the time. I will gladly hop on the train and explore the city alone.

It is just too hot.

This one has a little bit of truth to it. IT is dangerous to exercise in too much heat. however, I am a medical professional by training. I also know the signs and symptoms to watch out for and can be aware. I also know the precautions to take to prevent heat related problems.

Or that I should not attempt a hot yoga class because I don’t have a yoga towel.

This is a good one. While I see the need for a yoga towel, I am sure in a pinch one of my towels would be better than nothing. Also a yoga towel is not expensive and I can wait patiently and get one in all likelihood next month (it is my birthday in September!!)

Or that after yesterday’s class I should not take another one because I don’t think I have a good way to clean my mat.

Again BS! There are tons of ways to clean my mat at home and it is silly to use this as an excuse. Google search will show me tons of ways to do so.

Or that it is okay to be scared of the weights section and stay away from it because it is clearly only for men since it is full of big, bulky men.

Really? This one is one I can not believe I talk myself into believing. I have always been an advocate of women’s rights and equality. I have no doubt that plenty of women in the gym are capable of using these weights. I KNOW that I am capable of using them. So why don’t I? It is probably because I am scared and intimidated. I have never let my intimidation stand in my way before. .

And that it would be impossible and horrible to ask them to show me how to do it because they obviously have no desire to talk to little old me.

I LOVE talking to people. I love asking them questions and hearing them share their knowledge. So this is clearly another weak excuse. And besides, my younger brother is a machine in the weight room- he would always answer questions for me. So invite him to come to gym with me if need be. Or ask the staff at the gym- that is kind of what they are there for.

So what does this mean? This means I need to stop telling myself all of these things. It means I need to take responsibility for my actions. It means I need to remember this when I finally have my own gym membership next week and can no longer use the excuse of “I can’t exercise since no one is here to take me to the gym”. I need to remember it is no one else’s responsibility for my health. It is my responsibility and mine alone. No more excuses. I am going to do this. I am going to pursue some goals and do so through all the blood, sweat and tears it will produce. I am ready for the sweat. I am ready for pain. I am ready for soreness. I am ready to be inconvenienced. I am ready to make me my best self ever!! 

4 thoughts on “Some Bad Excuses!!!

  1. I just came here from Janae’s page but I think you need to get a work out friend 🙂 or just get a dog and run /w them, that’s what I do. I completely agree that the weight section is scary! especially if you don’t know what you’re doing….you could always get a PT 🙂 good luck! don’t despair…just keep working out

  2. Thanks for the encouragement!! I would love a workout buddy!! But I am more motivated and exercising more and more regularly than I ever have so if can do that- than I can do more!! I would love a puppy!! But our lease says no pets!! Otherwise I would have rescued a dog months ago!!

  3. I’m glad I’m not alone with the list of excuses that sometimes run through my mind. What struck me the most was the one about the weights section – I often feel that way. However, as one of my friends keep telling me, you have just as much right to be in there as they do! The concept of fear holding me back (something I blogged about yesterday) is something that I’ve been trying to work on – it’s only myself that’s holding me back from pushing forward. As you said – our health is our responsibility.
    Love the way you tackled each excuse! I think that’s a strategy that I’m going to try 🙂

    • I am glad that the format worked for you!! I hope it helps you!! I know I have just as much right to be there. And I think about my younger brother. He started using weights when he was 16 and felt intimidated at the local college gym we belonged to because he was younger and smaller and WAY chubbier than anyone else. Now he is one of the muscleheads. Took him years to do it but he went from not being able to run a lap around the track or lift more than 40 pounds to being able to run five miles and lift twice his bodyweight.

Leave a Reply

