People’s Improv Theatre (aka the PIT)

So last night was free night at the People’s Improv Theater and I joined some friends on the free night. How it works is that you can pick up tickets for the next show after the previous one started. There are shows at 7pm, 8pm, 9pm, 10pm and then an 11pm show which does not require tickets since it is the anyone can sign up for performing show! We were meeting there at 7:45. As I got off subway I was greeted with a light drizzle which very quickly turned into a torrential downpour.

The downpour that started minutes after I exited the subway. I sought refuge in the Starbucks

The 8pm show was okay. I have not been to improv in the past so I was not sure what I was suppossed to expect. But I was disappointed by it. The show did not seem to flow as much as I would have liked it to have and it seemed like some of the performers had a hard time setting up the stage.

We could not get tickets to the 9pm show so we instead got tickets for the 10pm show and sat at the bar. I was very tempted to order my old standby of Magners cider when I saw it on tap. However, I got excited to find a new Belgian style wheat beer called White Rascal. I decided to be adventurous and order that instead. It was rather good but I think I would have preferred my Magners!! For a tiny little bar inside a comdey club I was impressed with the selection on-tap. I also split a Grilled Cheese with Bacon with a friend. I was starving and only had had a small snack before the shows.

The selection on tap!!

We ended up not getting into the 10pm show until the second group went on which was featuring faculty members from the school. It was actually very funny and they ended up on a theme involving Care Bears. As a child of the 80s, I totally supported this and was horrified when I realized they were doing the Care Bear Stare wrong and that I still knew how it went!!

The show at 11pm was great because I got to see my friend perform and she was awesome!!  I loved watching her because it was very different from how she acted in prepared shows-  major props for stepping into a new realm and kicking butt!! She tried convincing me to go up but after a conversation about how I am not funny ha-ha but I have a biting sense of humor I decided to stay firmly in my seat!!!

I will love to go back another day and see what else is happening!! It was a great night!!

Leave a Reply

